Trustees and Ambassadors

About our board of trustees.

Founding Trustee

Sir Quentin Blake is one of the most popular and enduring illustrators in the world today. Since 1960 he has illustrated over 250 books by many writers, including Joan Aiken, Michael Rosen and most famously Roald Dahl. He also writes and illustrates his own picture books. In 1999 he was appointed the first Children’s Laureate.


Peter Andrews is a chartered surveyor with over 30 years’ experience serving on the boards of both private property development companies and government-sponsored urban regeneration bodies.

Dalwardin Babu OBE served as a senior officer in the Metropolitan police for 30 years and was the first chair of the National Association of Muslim Police.

Peter Barron spent 20 years in TV news and current affairs, including as editor of the BBC's Newsnight and deputy editor at Channel 4 News. He joined Google in 2008 and handled their communications across Europe for the next decade. He is now a freelance writer and consultant. He lives close to New River Head and is a member of the Amwell Society, which aims to preserve the heritage and character of the area.

Richard Bawden retired from KPMG in 2011 after over 30 years with the firm, including 18 years as an audit partner specialising in the media and telecoms sector.

Samantha Colt is a partner at global executive search firm, Odgers Berndtson. She leads the Arts, Culture and Heritage Practice appointing executive and non-executive leaders to a wide range of commercial and non-profit organisations across the sector.

Nicholas Durbridge is the Chairman and CEO of the Copyrights Group which he co-founded in 1984.

Tracey Joy Harrison is Managing Director of HMM, a consultancy providing strategic services to corporations and not-for-profits. She is a Director on the UCAS Media Board, a Trustee of The Royal Anniversary Trust, Unite Foundation, ICNARC and the Barbican Centre. Prior to setting up HMM, Tracey was a Partner in EY’s Advisory practice and a Managing Director in Accenture.

John Kampfner (Chair) is an author and journalist who has spent the last 25 years in the worlds of media, politics, international affairs and the arts. Former roles have included CE of the Creative Industries Federation, Chair of the Clore Social Leadership Programme and Chair of Turner Contemporary (2008-2015).

Dr Karyn Maier is the founder of leadership consultancy MAIER. She works primarily with CEOs and their teams across all sectors, specialising in change and transformation at both organisational and individual leadership levels.

Joy Yamusangie is a London-based visual artist specialising in illustration. Their previous projects have included a public art installation commissioned by Tate Collectives, the London Borough of Culture award and the book cover for the 2021 Penguin edition of C. L. R. James' Minty Alley.

Claudia Zeff (Deputy Chair) has curated several exhibitions for House of Illustration and is Creative Consultant to Quentin Blake.


Anthea Carver

Jeremy Carver

Lauren Child

Sarah Culshaw

Peter Fineman

Judy Gibbons

Larissa Joy

Colin McKenzie